Famille Chercheur Laboratoire Microscope Scaner Chercheurs Chercheurs Étudiants Tests
Fonds de recherche sur la santé

Deliberative Workshop: The challenges and opportunities of mega-data to better fight against cardiometabolic diseases, diabetes and obesity

Final report of the workshop (February 28 to March 1, 2019, Quebec)

Program of the Workshop, February 28 to March 1, 2019 (only available in French)

Presentation by François-Pierre Gauvin, Ph.D, McMaster University (only available in French)

Presentation by Benoît Lamarche, Ph.D, INAF, Laval University (only available in French)

Presentation by Samira Abbasgholizadeh-Rahimi, Ph.D., McGill University

Presentation by Mike Benigeri, Ph.D, University of Montreal (only available in French)

Presentation by Tibor Schuster, Ph.D, McGill University

Presentation by Lise Gauvin, Ph.D, Montreal University (only available in French)

Deliberative Workshop: The challenges and opportunities of mega-data to better fight against cardiometabolic diseases, diabetes and obesity

A total of 22 researchers and stakeholder partners came together to engage in a deliberative dialogue on the theme of how mega-data to better combat cardiometabolic diseases, diabetes and obesity.

Mega-data is seen as an opportunity to improve the diagnosis and delivery of health care, and to better understand important health issues such as obesity, diabetes and cardiometabolic diseases. Like many new concepts, the challenges and opportunities of mega-data have not been well explored. The objective of this workshop was to bring together experts and stakeholders to set priorities for mega-data in Quebec and to continue by exploring opportunities through a pilot study.

The workshop was organized by the team of Dr. Gillian Bartlett, CMDO Assistant Director and Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at McGill. The day’s program began with a presentation by François-Pierre Gauvin entitled ” Créer des systèmes de santé apprenant rapidement : quelles leçons tirer du contexte canadien?“. François-Pierre is senior scientist at the McMaster Health Forum. He leads the Forum’s citizen participation initiatives. He is also responsible for the development of Health Systems Evidence and Social Systems Evidence, the world’s most comprehensive access points for evidence to support policy makers, stakeholders and researchers. He presented about his work on a learning health system. In December 2018, the McMaster Health Forum released a report commissioned by the CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research and the Health Services and Policy Research Alliance of Canada. The purpose of this report was to launch a discussion on how the “learning health system” approach could be adapted and implemented in different Canadian jurisdictions. This opened the discussion on why we might need mega data. Then Benoît Lamarche presented about the PULSAR experiment. Dr. Lamarche is responsible for the scientific architecture of the PULSAR project put forward by the Alliance santé Québec, and developed by Université Laval. He is a professor at the Université Laval’s School of Nutrition, a researcher at the Institute of Nutrition and Functional Foods (INAF) and the Chair of Nutrition at Laval University. He has published more than 350 scientific articles in areas related to nutrition and health. He has written two books with renowned chef Jean Soulard, including a recent book entitled The DNA of Quebec Food, which demystifies and presents the concept of healthy eating in a Quebec context.

The participants then discussed the presentations during a diner cocktail. The following day, 4 short presentations set the tone for deliberative dialogues: Dr. Samira Abbasgholizadeh-Rahimi, with “Artificial Intelligence and its role in clinical contexts”; Dr. Mike Benigeri, with ” Jumelage des données médico-administratives. Présentation de 2 projets d’envergure au Québec “; Dr. Tibor Schuster, with “Machine Learning – Evolutionary perspectives and stimuli from the causal revolution”; and Dr. Lise Gauvin with ” Vers une transition numérique socialement responsable : quelques enjeux “.

After these presentations, the participants were grouped around four tables, where they discussed what they considered to be the best opportunities for mega-data, in the context of CMDOs in Quebec. At each table, a note-taker trained in ethnographic observation recorded the discussions (but did not spark debate). After the presentation of the themes, the groups were mixed and then discussed the most appropriate governance structure to realize these opportunities.

The debates are being transcribed and will be the subject of a thematic analysis integrating the observations of the ethnographic participants. This will result in three outputs: a public report for the CMDO network, a position paper for a peer-reviewed journal, and a pilot project proposal to explore the results of the workshop.

General conclusion

The Deliberative Workshop “Challenges and opportunities for mega-data to better fight cardiometabolic diseases, diabetes and obesity” was a great success! Indeed, during the workshop, the enthusiasm of the participants was palpable. In addition, the positive feedback received during the workshop reflects the participants’ satisfaction with the workshop and their interest in the project.

Famille Chercheur Laboratoire Microscope Scaner Chercheurs Chercheurs Étudiants Tests
Flèche

S'inscrire à l'infolettre



Fonds de recherche sur la santé

Atelier Délibératif: Les défis et les opportunités des méga-données pour mieux lutter contre les maladies cardiométaboliques, le diabète et l’obésité

Rapport final de l'atelier (28 février et 1 mars 2019, Québec)

Programme de l'Atelier, 28 février au 1 mars 2019

Présentation de François-Pierre Gauvin, Ph.D, Université McMaster

Présentation de Benoît Lamarche, Ph.D, INAF, Université Laval

Présentation de Samira Abbasgholizadeh-Rahimi, Ph.D, Université McGill

Présentation de Mike Benigeri, Ph.D, Université de Montréal

Présentation de Tibor Schuster, Ph.D, Université McGill

Présentation de Lise Gauvin, Ph.D, Université de Montréal McGill

Atelier Délibératif: Les défis et les opportunités des méga-données pour mieux lutter contre les maladies cardiométaboliques, le diabète et l’obésité

Au total, 22 chercheurs et partenaires prenants se sont rassemblés pour engager un dialogue délibératif sur le thème de comment les méga-données pour mieux lutter contre les maladies cardiométaboliques, le diabète et l’obésité.

Les méga-données sont considérées comme une occasion d’améliorer les diagnostics et la prestation des soins de santé, et de mieux comprendre les problèmes de santé importants tels que l’obésité, le diabète et les maladies cardiométaboliques. Comme beaucoup de nouveaux concepts, les défis et les opportunités liés au méga-données n’ont pas été bien explorés. L’objectif de cet atelier était de réunir des experts et des intervenants afin d’établir des priorités pour le méga-données au Québec et de poursuivre en explorant les possibilités grâce à une étude pilote.

L’atelier a été organisé par l’équipe de Dre Gillian Bartlett, directrice adjointe de CMDO et professeure dans le département de médicine familiale à McGill. Le programme de la journée a débuté par la présentation par François-Pierre Gauvin intitulée “Créer des systèmes de santé apprenant rapidement : quelles leçons tirer du contexte canadien?”.  François-Pierre est responsable scientifique sénior au McMaster Health Forum. Il dirige les initiatives de participation citoyenne du Forum. Il est également responsable du développement de Health Systems Evidence et de Social Systems Evidence, les points d’accès les plus complets au monde pour des données probantes afin de soutenir les responsables de politiques, les parties prenantes et les chercheurs. Il a présenté à propos de son travail sur un système de santé apprenant. En décembre 2018, le McMaster Health Forum publia un rapport commandé par l’Institut des services et des politiques de la santé des IRSC et l’Alliance de recherche sur les services et les politiques de santé au Canada. Ce rapport avait pour objectif de lancer une discussion sur la manière dont l’approche de « système de santé apprenant » pouvait être adaptée et mise en œuvre dans les différentes juridictions canadiennes. Cela a ouvert la discussion sur pourquoi pourrions-nous avoir besoin des méga-données.  Ensuite, Benoît Lamarche a présenté à propos de l’expérience PULSAR. Dr Lamarche est responsable de l’architecture scientifique du projet PULSAR mis de l’avant par l’Alliance santé Québec, et développé par l’Université Laval. Il est professeur à l’École de nutrition de l’Université Laval, chercheur à l’Institut sur la nutrition et les aliments fonctionnels (INAF) et titulaire de la Chaire de nutrition de l’Université Laval. Il a publié plus de 350 articles scientifiques dans des domaines liés à la nutrition et la santé. Il a rédigé deux livres avec le chef réputé Jean Soulard, dont un tout récent intitulé l’ADN de l’alimentation québécoise, qui démystifie et présente le concept d’alimentation santé dans un contexte québécois.

Les participants ont ensuite discuté des présentations au cours d’un cocktail dînatoire. Le lendemain, 4 courtes présentations ont donné le ton aux dialogues délibératifs : Dre Samira Abbasgholizadeh-Rahimi, avec « Artificial Intelligence and its role in clinical contexts »); Dr Mike Benigeri, avec « Jumelage des données médico-administratives. Présentation de 2 projets d’envergure au Québec »; Dr Tibor Schuster, avec « Machine Learning – Evolutionary perspectives and stimuli from the causal revolution »; et Dre Lise Gauvin avec «  Vers une transition numérique socialement responsable : quelques enjeux ».

Après ces présentations, les participants ont été regroupés autour de quatre tables, où ils ont discuté de ce qu’ils considéraient être les meilleures opportunités pour les méga-données, dans le contexte des CMDO au Québec. À chaque table, un preneur de notes formé à l’observation ethnographique a enregistré les discussions (mais n’a pas suscité le débat). Après la présentation des thèmes, les groupes ont été mélangés et ont ensuite débattu de la structure de gouvernance la plus appropriée pour concrétiser ces opportunités.

Les débats sont en cours de transcription et feront l’objet d’une analyse thématique intégrant les observations des participants ethnographiques. Il en résultera trois produits : un rapport public pour le Réseau CMDO, une prise de position à publier dans une revue à comité de lecture et une proposition de projet pilote visant à explorer les résultats de l’atelier.

Conclusion Générale

L’atelier délibératif “ Les défis et les opportunités des méga-données pour mieux lutter contre les maladies cardiométaboliques, le diabète et l’obésité “ fut un franc succès ! En effet, lors de l’atelier, l’engouement des participants était palpable. De plus, les commentaires positifs reçus pendant l’atelier témoignent de la satisfaction des participants envers l’atelier et de leur intérêt envers le projet.